Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Another Carbon Fiber Question

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-19, 09:58 AM
spinconn

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked 41 Times in 25 Posts

I am not seeking arguments or controversy here. I have one bike and it is CF and I think it is as close to perfect for me and my riding as any bike can be.

However, I am not technically inclined and my research into CF has left me with a question I have not seen answered. Perhaps it has been answered and my technical ignorance prevented me from understanding the answer.

I read that I should not allow impacts to CF, should carefully inspect it for signs of damage, should not use certain chemicals on it, should not place it in a bike stand without some aluminum part such as a seat post to bear the weight, should not let it sit in the hot sun, etc., etc. Fine, every material will have an Achilles heel or two.

But I also read of the great strength of CF. What I do not understand is in what specific manner is it strong? Obviously it is light, and therefore must be strong to be functional despite light weight. So, I assume it is able to bear a greater weight on a pound for pound basis than some other materials. I also assume it is less likely to decline due to exposure to air and water.

But, is that it? Is there some other specific benefit? If not, that is fine, I love my CF bike. But I am curious whether there is more to it than that.
Old 09-18-19, 10:05 AM
tagaproject6