Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Where to find longer tubing??

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-19, 10:52 PM
jtillinghast

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi Folks,

I'm new to framebuilding and planning my first build. I usually ride a 60 or 62cm frame, and I am having trouble finding tubing long enough in 25.4 and and 28.6, 650mm and longer. Am I missing something?

Thanks!
Old 01-30-19, 12:07 AM
Andrew R Stewart 

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Mongoose Tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder, Stewart 650B ATB

Quoted: 4201 Post(s)
Liked 3,857 Times in 2,305 Posts
A few thoughts-

These days most frames are following a "compact" design so seat tube lengths are a few CMs less then the "virtual" size is. Top tube lengths haven't really changed much for road.

Tube diameters have grown, especially for larger riders. Repeat, especially for taller riders. So a 25.4mm top tube for a rider who needs a 62cm seat tube is not really on today's radar. By the same reasoning a down tube of 28.6 for same rider is thought as pretty skinny/flexy.

How heavy are you? Will you carry more then a seat wedge bag? Do you spin or pedal squares?

Having said all that check out Kaisei tubing (what use to be Ishiwata and was then and still is good stuff) https://www.compasscycle.com/product...framebuilding/ Andy
Old 01-30-19, 12:08 AM
unterhausen
Randomhead

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 3,696 Times in 2,517 Posts