Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Am I the only one who doesn't have a good experience with The Black Bibs?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-19, 02:36 AM
RMoudatir

Bikes: Otso Warakin, 2014 Fuji Sportif 1.4 disc

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked 11 Times in 7 Posts

I just got my first pair of bib shorts after I've been using a pair of Sugoi shorts for thr last 3 years. I chose The Black Bibs Plus, I was so confident in these shorts I'd see everyone hyping them up comparing these shorts to their 150-200 dollar shorts that I got the more expensive Plus version. I am 5'8, weigh 130 lbs, 28 inch waist and 32 inch chest so I fit pretty much in that criteria for a size small which I got. My first impressions when I first held them was that the padding was much thicker and much less supple than on my Sugoi shorts. On rides it feels like there is little breathability and my guys down there are being pressed down on. After 20 miles I start getting discomforting pressure on my sit bones and surrounding area, they start to feel numb after a while and I have never have gotten that numb pressure feeling with the Sugoi shorts I've been using before. I thought bib shorts were an upgrade from cycling shorts. I went back to my Sugoi shorts and I feel so much better on them, much better breathability and comfort and they were only 50$ when I bought them.
Old 11-17-19, 04:59 AM
Metieval

Bikes: Road bike, Hybrid, Gravel, Drop bar SS, hard tail MTB

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked 298 Times in 214 Posts
Originally Posted by RMoudatir
. I thought bib shorts were an upgrade from cycling shorts.
they are, now buy a pair of Sugoi bibs.