Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Dahon EEZZ D3 vs Brompton for world travel?

Search
Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-17, 01:14 PM
mmw

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I am looking for the best 16" folding bicycle for minimalist world travel.. (bicycle and a small backpack)

I am not looking to do any long tours but something that I can ride around all day long in a large city or possibly from town to town if not too far away.

As of right now I am considering the EEZZ D3 and a Brompton S6E..

Which would be more reliable?

Which would be easier to get parts for?

Which would be easier to fix while on the road?

( I have zero bicycle maintenance experience )

Likes For mmw:
Old 01-23-17, 01:43 PM
bromptoneer

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi, 100% Brompton! I had the Dahon for about a month. Sold it and got the Brompton! The Dahon is better in 1 thing, that is folding and unfolding a bit faster in tighter places. Other than that the bromton is better in every other way. The dahon started creaking after one week. I am not heavy. 65kg. You cannot put bags on the Dahon.
The Brompton is very smart and a long lasting model which is basically the same design since 25 years. Every part you can come by easily around the world. I have a review of the nyce vespertine edition on youtube.
Old 01-23-17, 01:44 PM
jur

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
How tall are you? What's your budget? What's your riding experience?
Old 01-23-17, 01:54 PM
mmw

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I don't really have a budget, I could get a new Brompton for $1,400 or the EEZZ for $1,100 but those are my concerns as I will be going to 10+ countries with the bicycle.. not just touring around NYC.