Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Why am I getting slower?

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Why am I getting slower?

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-16, 10:01 PM
hobkirk
Retired dabbler

Location: Acton, MA (20 miles west of Boston) - GORGEOUS cycling territory!

Bikes: 2007 Specialized Roubaix Elite Triple - 1st ride = century 9/19/2010 , Ultegra

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Why am I getting slower?

I started riding at 65. I was rabid about both speed & distance. From June-December I rode 4700 miles, including two days the temperature was 16°. In mid September, I rode two Centuries on consecutive weekends. Two different courses, two different bikes, 15.3 mph average on both. On some shorter rides I could average 17 MPH if I was working hard.

6 years later, and my average speed continues to drop. Hard effort 20 mile rides are now 14.8 at best. I'm analytical, so I ponder why?
  • My weight is the same. No change in life style or location.
  • I'm riding less. First year I averaged 670 miles per month, rode 6 days a week, and did 1 or 2 hard effort rides each week. and "longer rides" were 50-65 miles.
  • I'm not doing "fitness rides" now, but last year I was doing hard intervals (4x8 minutes, 2-3 minutes easy to lower the HR). I'd get my AHR up to 150, which is high for me. These didn't seem to improve my speed in my other rides. (They were hard! I did them once a week for 2 months, I was disappointed!)
  • Now I only ride 450-500 miles/month (last year I started making an effort to do other things).