Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Trouble removing vintage freewheel...

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-20, 01:01 PM
tpadul 

Bikes: 1984 Sekai 5000 Superbe, 1987 Raleigh Seneca Mountain Tour, 1984 Schwinn World Sport, 1978 Raleigh Grand Prix, 2021 Handsome She Devil, Mystery Vintage purple road bike

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked 124 Times in 61 Posts

Trouble removing vintage freewheel help?

Can someone give me suggestions on how to get this to budge? I’m hammering the Allen tool like the guy in the video said to do clockwise but this just won’t move at all..I’ve sprayed lots of WD-40 on it. This is my first time attempting to do this. I’m a brand new newbie and I’m trying to watch the videos online.

I still don’t have my tool kit yet. I just ordered one a 44 piece off EBay. So I’m trying to see if I can get this off the way the guy in the video is doing it.

Old 08-30-20, 01:30 PM
Bill Kapaun
Really Old Senior Member

Bikes: 87 RockHopper,2008 Specialized Globe. Both upgraded to 9 speeds. 2019 Giant Explore E+3

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Quoted: 1795 Post(s)
Liked 1,269 Times in 876 Posts
Not sure what you are trying to accomplish with the hex wrench? Do you have any idea how many tiny bearing balls you'll scatter if you realized that piece had a LH thread?
You need a Sun Tour 2 prong removal tool.
Park Tools FR-2
And use a QR skewer, axle or SOMETHING to hold the tool in place.
These are very prone to breaking the tool if misaligned.

https://www.parktool.com/product/freewheel-remover-fr-2

Last edited by Bill Kapaun; 08-30-20 at 01:40 PM.
Likes For Bill Kapaun:
Old 08-30-20, 01:54 PM
Iwas20Then

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Gran Prix

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)