Search this Thread

Old 12-18-07, 02:19 PM
cycledorchy

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hello from Katy, TX

Hi all. I'm new to cycling and new to the forums. I'm currently living in Cinco ranch in Katy outside Houston, and I'm starting to ride for fun, fitness, and eventually, for charity too. I don't have a good bike yet, I am shopping for and saving for a decent entry level road bike...so for now, if you see an increasingly less but still somewhat overweight guy riding a cheapo red mountain bike along cinco ranch boulevard or mason road, don't make fun! I'm trying!

Seriously, I'm trying clipless pedals for the first time tonight so if anyone has any tips on not breaking my butt every five minutes, I would appreciate it. I'm also looking for a nice group to ride with who might be willing to help me learn how to ride better, and help me pick the right equipment for both budget and performance.

It's nice to meet everyone and I hope that I can meet and ride with some more experienced folks in Katy soon!
Old 12-18-07, 03:11 PM
SpiderMike
eert a ekil yzarc

Bikes: many bikes

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Welcome. As for the clipless, you'll get use to it. Just remember to unclip before you stop. And if you do fall over at the red light, follow these steps...

1. Get up and collect yourself
2. Move to the side of the road quickly.
3. Start looking at your pedals and bike.

Following these steps will help make you look like your trying to figure out the mechanical issue that prevented you from keeping upright.
Old 12-18-07, 03:56 PM
aggie_grad

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts