Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Loss of strength while cycling

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 01-25-21, 11:00 AM
CatSoupLover

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

First of all my english is not perfect because if not from the USA so cut me some salck.

Ok si i have been cycling for almost 2 years now, and i have felt a slow but still notisable change in strenght in those 2 years, recently though, for the past 2 month or so i have felt a big lack of strenght and condition, what i could do before now i struggle a lot to do, i use to be able to do 3 laps in a park near my house in a decent speed, now i struggle to do 2 in a slower manner.

I train about 2 to 3 times a week so i dont think overtraining is the isue and i already took a cool off period, of about 9 days, i also eat healthy and consitantly, the only other thing i can think of is maybe my bike is malfunctioning, but any other ideas?
Old 01-25-21, 11:44 AM
shelbyfv
Expired Member

Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Quoted: 3653 Post(s)
Liked 5,391 Times in 2,736 Posts
Heart trouble? Covid? Probably a good idea to ask your doctor.
Old 01-25-21, 11:51 AM
hillyman
WALSTIB

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked 384 Times in 183 Posts
Lift bike up and spin both wheels to see if a brake is dragging. If not follow shelbyfv's advice pronto

Old 01-25-21, 12:39 PM
rosefarts
With a mighty wind

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 1086 Post(s)
Liked 858 Times in 487 Posts
I was a couple miles into a ride. Suffering. Steep switchbacks up ahead, feeling winded and tired already. Was considering going home. My buddy dropped me and proceeded to open a big gap.