Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

single speed gearing

Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

single speed gearing

Old 06-29-06, 06:04 PM
tonyg

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
single speed gearing

i'm thinking about getting started in folders by purchasing a dahon boardwalk1. einstein bikes international lists this model as having a 63" gear. is this right, and doesn't it seem to be a little high for a singlespeed? or am i not taking into account the 20" wheels? i thought a 2:1 gearing was the norm for singlespeeds. i'm a little confused and would appreciate your input, as i'm no bike expert. thanks.....tonyg
Old 06-29-06, 06:37 PM
DaFriMon
Member, Schmember

Bikes: Bike Friday Crusoe and Pocket Tourist. Dahon Curve D3 and Speed P8. Raleigh Twenty. Bianchi Eros. Highly modified Mongoose Dynametric (hybrid)

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by tonyg
i'm thinking about getting started in folders by purchasing a dahon boardwalk1. einstein bikes international lists this model as having a 63" gear. is this right, and doesn't it seem to be a little high for a singlespeed? or am i not taking into account the 20" wheels? i thought a 2:1 gearing was the norm for singlespeeds. i'm a little confused and would appreciate your input, as i'm no bike expert. thanks.....tonyg
With the actual diameter of 20 inch wheels being around 19 inches, a 2:1 gearing ratio would give you a 38 inch gear, which is ridiculously low for a single speed.

I haven't owned a single speed in a while, but 63 gear inches seems like a reasonable compromise. You should be able to get up moderate hills without walking, and won't have to spin insanely on the flats just to keep up a decent speed.
Old 06-30-06, 03:43 AM
trentschler
Not so new