Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

How to Prepare for Haleakala?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-12, 03:57 AM
happa95

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey guys (and gals),

This summer, my family is heading out to Maui for spring break and I thought that Maui would be a great place to get some riding in. I've heard that the famed ride up Haleakala is the ride to do so I'm trying to figure out if I'll be up to the task and what I'll need to bring.

Some background: I started riding in March (maybe April) at the urging of a friend. At the time, I had about a year of running background so I wasn't completely out of shape. I rode a fair amount into the summer, did a century, and then stopped entirely once school (and cross country season) started. Once or twice this school year, my friend has coerced me into doing a ride or two but that's been it. However, on Saturday, after not having ran (or biked) for at least a week, I completed a 60 mile ride with 6300 feet of climbing in the Santa Monica mountains. I feel like that demonstrated at least the ability to attempt Haleakala, if not complete it. What do you guys think?

What do you think I should do to prepare? What should I bring? Finally, does anyone have any suggestions on where to rent a bike (we're going to be staying in Lahaina and Hana).

Last edited by happa95; 01-02-12 at 05:06 AM.
Old 01-02-12, 10:29 AM
MegaTom

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix SL3, Lynskey Cooper CX

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts