Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

4 Bikes to choose from -- Any thoughts and advise appreciated :)

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-14, 03:36 AM
Speedy83

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Ok, this is my first time here so please have some patience if I do anything wrong...

I'm in the market to buy a mountain bike.
- Price category $750-$1500 (Australian Dollar).
- As I'm relatively new into mountain biking it does not have to be the most technical bike ever.
- No preference between 26" and 29"

Looking at local offers at the moment for my length (1.93, with long long legs) I have come up with the options mentioned underneath.

Some basic questions go through my mind:
- Buying last years components is probably roughly identical to this years, but buying 3-4-5 years old components might make a big difference. Clearly in electronics as soon as you buy it, it is old, but how fast does technology progress in Mountain Biking?

- How important is the "brand" of the bicycle compared to the brands of all the components? As you can see there is a fairly unknown brand included, but it has great components for the price .

I would greatly appreciate some expert thoughts on the bikes mentioned below, potential warnings are also more than welcome .

Buy HASA Hard Tail Mountain Bike SLX 30 Speed | CD - More Products

Apollo Xpert291 | Apollo | 29er Mountain Bikes for sale in Ashburton | 102157680

Merida Matts Lite XT-D

Rocky Mountain Element 30 | Rocky Mountain | 26" Dual Suspension Mountain Bikes for sale in Strathpine | 102398145
(please find components here on page 20: https://www.bikes.com/sites/default/f...13_Can_MTB.pdf)

Thanks for the help!