Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

fully supported charity ride

Search
Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-07, 07:18 AM
NJfolder

Bikes: Specialized Myka mountain bike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm thinking of riding in a fully supported charity ride to benefit a cancer organization this weekend. They have 3 different distances, but since I'm new at this and this will be my first ride, I'm picking the shortest one which is 16 miles. I have never been on my bike for 16 miles and have no idea if I'll be able to ride that far, especially on a folder. For those of you who have done this sort of thing, if you can't complete the ride or can't keep up with the others, what happens? Can you turn around and go back?

Also, is a longer ride on a folder any different from riding on a conventional sized bike?
Old 10-10-07, 07:47 AM
rhm
multimodal commuter

Bikes: 1940s Fothergill, 1959 Allegro Special, 1963? Claud Butler Olympic Sprint, Lambert 'Clubman', 1974 Fuji "the Ace", 1976 Holdsworth 650b conversion rando bike, 1983 Trek 720 tourer, 1984 Counterpoint Opus II, 1993 Basso Gap, 2010 Downtube 8h, and...

Mentioned: 584 Post(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked 574 Times in 339 Posts
I'm not going to say what happens if you bail; "fully supported" probably means you have lots of options.

That said... you'll be fine! If you're in good enough shape to think about 16 miles on a bike, you'll be in good enough shape to do it.