Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Bottom bracket help

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Bottom bracket help

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-19, 08:43 PM
jaykoo

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Bottom bracket help

Hello all.
I am a noob. Please go easy on me.
My bottom bracket on 1999? Specialized Rockhopper was crunchy. So after research, I found out it was a square taper type. I got a Park Tool to remove the crank and expected to see splines (that’s what all videos that I saw) showed.

However, there were no splines to be turned. The drive side had what looked like a large silver washer with slight flat edge on opposing sides. The non-drive side had some protrusions but it did not look as if it was meant for any tool to grab on to.

What is this madness? I took beautiful photos to post but I didn’t have enough posts to attach photos. Any input from those who are knowledgeable would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by jaykoo; 08-10-19 at 09:02 PM. Reason: Typo
Old 08-10-19, 09:10 PM
dsbrantjr

Bikes: '93 Trek 750, '92 Schwinn Crisscross, '93 Mongoose Alta

Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked 1,092 Times in 723 Posts
It sounds like you have the old cup-and-cone type of bottom bracket. Here are a couple of links there are tons more online:
https://www.sheldonbrown.com/tooltips/bbcups.html
https://www.sheldonbrown.com/tooltips/bbadj.html