Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Radrover or Ecotric ??

Search
Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Radrover or Ecotric ??

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-19, 06:39 PM
Dschaffer

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Radrover or Ecotric ??

Hello all,

I am new to the ebike world and am trying to deside between a Radpower RadRover Fat Bike and a Ecotric Fat Tire. Being new to this forum, I am not allowed to post URLs to the bikes so I apologize for that. The Radower bike is $1500 and the Ecotric is $1000.
I have found good reviews on both bikes but nothing that compares the two. Do any of you have experiance with these companies or can speak to the build quality and components?
I really appreciate it.
Old 02-19-19, 10:46 PM
Doc_Wui

Bikes: GT Transeo & a half dozen ebike conversions.

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked 275 Times in 192 Posts
The Ecotric is a smaller motor and lower voltage. Might hit 20 mph on 36V. They claim 23. The limit for a class II is 20 mph anyway so the Voltbike is also locked into 20 mph unless you mod it. You get the cool little holes in the rim on the Ecotric. Do you get them on the Radrover? Both have a basic Shimano Derailleur and Tektro mechanical disks. My experiece with those Tektros is good.

Bigger battery on the Voltbike. 48V 14AH. Multiply those two numbers to get watt-hours (WH). Voltbike is 672 WH while Ecotric is 432 WH. Now 672/432 = 1.55, so you'll go 50% farther. If 432 WH is enough for your basic ride, well that may not matter. Expect to burn 20-25 WH/mile riding a fatbike at 20 mph w/o pedaling. The Ecotric battery is easy to find as a third party unit. I would expect the same of the Volt, but they might have played some tricks to keep buyers inhouse.