Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

When should I increase my pedal release tension?

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 08-06-20, 02:22 PM
ScottRiqui

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 34 Times in 22 Posts

I'm new to clipless pedals, and am using an SPD-SL setup. Prior to my first ride, I set the release tension to its lowest setting - as long as I don't start having problems with my shoes spontaneously coming unclipped, is there any reason to ever increase the tension from its lowest setting?
Old 08-06-20, 02:28 PM
Roobz

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Nope. If your happy on the lowest setting then keep them like that. Iv never accidentally unclipped from mine on there lowest setting. I have 105 pedals.

adjusting the tension means re-learning what it takes to unclip. Increasing your chances of falling over. not worth it really.
Likes For Roobz:
Old 08-06-20, 02:47 PM
79pmooney

Bikes: (2) ti TiCycles, 2007 w/ triple and 2011 fixed, 1979 Peter Mooney, ~1983 Trek 420 now fixed and ~1973 Raleigh Carlton Competition gravel grinder

Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Quoted: 4788 Post(s)
Liked 3,914 Times in 2,545 Posts
I've been riding a long time. I've seen plenty of crashes that started as the foot coming off the pedal, often when the rider has had a scare. If you are going fast, you usually fare a lot better securely on the bike and committed to staying upright. My advice would be to periodically tighten the release a click or two. Little enough that the added resistance won't be more than a momentary scare but such that ultimately it takes a little effort to unclip.