Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

New rear derailleur for Campa 8 speed cassette and 8 speed Chorus shifters

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-20, 07:06 AM
Jorun

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi there,

I'm quite new at riding and maintaining road bikes. I've bought an old ridley road bike about a year ago. I've enjoyed this bike a lot and I hope to still ride it for a long time.

However the bike I bought had some problems with the rear derailleur. The previous owner had crashed the bike and the rear derailleur was bent a little. I tried adjusting the derailleur so it would shift better, and that helped, but there is still some resistance in the gears in the derailleur. To improve my cycling experience, I'm currently looking into a new rear derailleur.

The bike has a campagnolo veloce 9 speed rear derailleur, with an 8 speed casette and campagnolo chorus 8 speed shifters. I can't however find a new or still working campa veloce 9 speed rear derailleur. My shifters, brakes, cassette and front derailleur are all still fine, so I'm not really looking for a completely new group set. However I have no idea which rear derailleurs would be compatible with my current setup. Are there any campa 10 or 11 speed derailleurs compatible? Does someone know where you could still buy 8 or 9 speed derailleurs?

Thanks in advance!

Yours sincerely,
Jorun
Old 04-14-20, 07:23 AM
SJX426 

Bikes: '65 Frejus TDF, '73 Bottecchia Giro d'Italia, '83 Colnago Superissimo, '84 Trek 610, '84 Trek 760, '88 Pinarello Veneto, '88 De Rosa Pro, '89 Pinarello Montello, '94 Burley Duet, 97 Specialized RockHopper, 2010 Langster, Tern Link D8

Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Quoted: 1607 Post(s)