Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Drop some knowledge on a noob. Need some help with plans for a rebuild/overhaul.

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Drop some knowledge on a noob. Need some help with plans for a rebuild/overhaul.

Old 08-06-20, 03:55 PM
BuckeyeBiker

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi, I've been riding my trusty old tank of a Trek 800 Sport since 1998 with almost no issues. The frame, fork, cranks, pedals, brakes and everything seems in really good shape. No bends/dents or (visible) damage anywhere on the bike despite thousands of miles of use. Recently I've started riding a lot more and dropping weight, going from 370 down to 330... but still lots to go before I can fit on a 'normal' size bike. I just popped a couple of spokes for the first time, the rear hub isn't turning quite as smooth as it once did, so I started thinking about a complete overhaul: replacing the groupset, putting trigger shifters on instead of grip shifters, new crankset, new derailleur etc.

Long story short, I've done a ton of reading to try and educate myself, but I'm feeling very overwhelmed -- there's soooo much to learn, so many standards, so many options! I apologize in advance if my questions are dumb, I'm completely new to this.

The bike has 3 front chainrings (shimano), a 7 gear rear casette, with a shimano sis tourney T30 front and rear derailleur , standard 135mm dropout spacing on the steel frame in the back, with a bottom bracket hull of 68mm. Quill type stem with a threaded steering hub. The wheels are 36 spoke single wall and have held up well to this point, but I'd consider replacing them if needed as well.