Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Advocacy & Safety
Reload this Page >

Unclipping quickly after having to stop very quickly - tips and drills?

Search
Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-16, 07:53 AM
Inpd

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi,

I think this belongs in safety.

I've been riding clipless for 6 months now. I ride the Shimano SPD 520 and 530s pedals as they are easy to clip in and out of. I have no trouble clipping in and out under regular situation such as I know I need to stop in 20 feet.

However, a few times I've had to slam on my brakes to avoid a crash only that's when I just can't unclip in time and fall to the ground. I know I'm panicking but is there a nice tip someone can feed me or a drill to practice? I prefer to clip out with the pedal at 12 o'clock and twist and find its faster than clipping out at 6 o'clock and twisting out.
Old 02-21-16, 08:30 AM
02Giant 

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 1638 Post(s)
Liked 741 Times in 495 Posts
Don't put yourself in situations where you have to panic stop...

There has been countless situations for me, that if I believe I will have to stop, I unclip ahead of time. Many of those, I don't have to come to a stop and I proceed. Since riding clip less, I haven't ever had to panic stop.

You are doing something wrong having fallen from quick stops clipped in, a few times.
Old 02-21-16, 08:32 AM
shelbyfv
Expired Member

Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Quoted: 3691 Post(s)
Liked 5,497 Times in 2,786 Posts