Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

Hello Everyone!

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-21, 09:54 AM
way2far

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello Everyone!

Good morning all, great community you have here. This is a long intro, but I wanted to give you some background.

I joined a couple days ago as my wife and I are looking into getting bikes so we can ride along with our son (my dad bought him a Schwinn Piston - cool looking bike!) around the neighborhood.

I feel so ignorant as I was not aware of just how large the biking/cycling community was AND how much there was to read and learn about bikes.

The last time I rode regularly was probably 20-25 years ago. Had a Western Flyer 10-speed that was handed down by my Dad after I graduated from my Huffy Disc bike (remember those?).

Needless to say, the bike technology has come a long, long way. Much research was needed on my end as to what my short term and long term plans were for our bikes. Call me shallow, but even though I knew my rides would consist of providing a shield to my kids on our suburban roadways, I didn't want a cruiser. However I didn't need a pure road/cycling bike either. Therefore I started researching these new things called "Hybrids". What a cool concept in that you have a little bit of everything if you want it.