Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

Newbie Here - Some Questions

Search
Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-15, 09:18 PM
Obsessive

Bikes: TREK 7.2FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi, all.

I recently was 'forced' (I say this light-heartedly) into purchasing a bike. I herniated a Lumbar disk and lost about 40% strength in my left calf due to the sciatic nerve being pinched. I was an avid long distance runner for the last 8 years and since the injury had to find something else to keep me in shape. I've always liked mechanical things (I have an old Mustang 5.0 that always breaks - it's a Ford after all), so I respect the mechanics and build of a bicycle. It was somewhat of a natural thing to get into.

Soooo... While my wife and I both had older Trek 7100's, I knew that this wasn't a bike that was going to let me somewhat crank away. It was too 'squishy' and while I didn't want a road bike, I needed something that was a bit more dedicated to some type of fitness. After looking at and riding Raleigh, Specialized, and Trek, I decided on a 7.2FX in what I call - grabber blue. I wanted something with a bit of a wider tire that was flexible as far as replacements go, mount bosses for fenders, etc., more upright position, blahblah... I road bike just didn't seem 'natural' because I was just getting into things and didn't want to pop $1200 for a higher end bike not knowing if it would even be something I wanted to so, plus I want to be able to ride the bike paths here which are of varying composition - concrete, asphalt, chip-and-seal, crushed rock and hard packed dirt - didn't think a road bike was the best choice for that. All three local bike shops were great, but I decided on a Trek dealer that had been around longer than I have. I like supporting local businesses and they were very knowledgeable.