Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > Cyclocross Racing
Reload this Page >

Regarding tires . . .

Notices
Cyclocross Racing Discuss pro racing, the big races, and even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Regarding tires . . .

Old 09-30-17, 08:08 AM
sfh

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Regarding tires . . .

So I'm totally new to this. I've been in the process of looking for a new road bike because I bought a CX bike a few years ago as a do-it-all. But instead of rushing out to buy, I decided I should actually race cyclocross since that what the bike is for. It's a CAADX Tiagra with canti brakes.

I did my first race last weekend. Conditions were dry, but I found my back wheel especially slipping all over the place. I was running at 35psi in the stock Sammy Slick tires (700x35c). Any recommendations on other tires for racing? Wondering if the Sammy Slicks are just too slick to have a good grip on a course.

Thanks.
Old 09-30-17, 09:59 AM
Doge

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Quoted: 3374 Post(s)
Liked 371 Times in 253 Posts
Originally Posted by sfh
So I'm totally new to this. I've been in the process of looking for a new road bike because I bought a CX bike a few years ago as a do-it-all. But instead of rushing out to buy, I decided I should actually race cyclocross since that what the bike is for. It's a CAADX Tiagra with canti brakes.

I did my first race last weekend. Conditions were dry, but I found my back wheel especially slipping all over the place. I was running at 35psi in the stock Sammy Slick tires (700x35c). Any recommendations on other tires for racing? Wondering if the Sammy Slicks are just too slick to have a good grip on a course.

Thanks.
I'm ignorant too - but have been studying lately.
35c means 35mm wide - right?
What are your gears?