Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Mountain biker thinking about picking up the road cycling hobby as well.

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-15, 06:31 PM
MTBikeTexas

Bikes: Haro V4

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Decided to join the forum and ask you all knowledgeable folks about adding road cycling to my repertoire of physical activity. I started riding off road in college and road non stop for a few years, then on and off after graduating as life became busier with work and other activities. I originally started riding because I found an affinity for craft beer in college and to keep from blowing up I needed a hobby to help burn off those delicious calories. Lately I've been thinking about adding a road bike in the garage because I live in North Texas, and our MTB season has been all but ruined by the enormous amount of rain we've seen this year. However, if I had a road bike, I'd have more flexibility to keep the wheels turning while the trails are muddy, if not completely flooded in some cases.

Anyway, enough rambling I suppose. I was hoping to hear recommendations from those that might ride both, or have ridden both, and might be able to lead me to an affordable quality option to ride on the streets. Something I won't be heart broken on losing a bunch of cash if I end up not liking it....

Thanks in advance guys.
Old 06-07-15, 06:35 PM
Giant Fuji

Bikes: 2015 Giant Talon 4, 2015 Fuji Roubaix 1.1, 2010 Fuji Newest 3.0

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts