Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Re sizing a lugged frame

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Re sizing a lugged frame

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-18, 09:27 AM
daviddavieboy

Bikes: I have a few

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked 210 Times in 104 Posts
Re sizing a lugged frame

Has anyone here every rebuilt a frame to make it smaller, as in remove the lugs, shorten the tubes and re braze the frame? I am only interested in shortening the reach so it would involve removing the lugs on the headtube and lengthening the headtube. I have never done any sort of framebuilding before except if you count making a chopper as a kid in the 70's but am very good with other types of metalworking.(repairing/fabricating machinery) My concern comes from destroying a good quality frame and possibly creating dangerous handling.
Old 11-28-18, 10:44 AM
Cynikal 
Team Beer

Bikes: Too Many

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked 159 Times in 104 Posts
I would think that would be considerable more complicated than just building a frame from scratch.
Old 11-28-18, 10:56 AM
Doug Fattic 
framebuilder

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked 1,916 Times in 656 Posts
No it is not a practical thing to do and yes you would be most likely destroying a good frame. If it is a production instead of custom American frame it is probably brazed with brass which requires some special knowledge and skill to take apart successfully if the lugs are going to be used again.