Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Campagnolo 10 sp cassette on 11 sp hub?

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Campagnolo 10 sp cassette on 11 sp hub?

Old 03-31-20, 11:19 AM
  #1  
Huszi
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Campagnolo 10 sp cassette on 11 sp hub?

Hello everyone,

I just bought a brand new wheel set with dt swiss 350 hubs and campag 11 sp freehub body. I also bought a 10 speed veloce casette for the new wheels as it should be compatible with the 11 sp hub.

When I tried to slide the cogs on the first 3 was so extremely tight the sprocket actually carved the freehub body and removed quite a bit of aluminium (like 0.3-5 mm).

At the end I managed to fit the casette but the whole process dis not feel right.
Any advice on this? I have been googling all day but I didnít come across anything.

Thanks in advance if anyone has got some advice on this.
Huszi is offline  
Old 03-31-20, 11:42 AM
  #2  
Iride01
Senior Member
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3,128

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked 226 Times in 171 Posts
Did you check Campy's spec on that. I didn't think their 10 spd hubs would work with 11 spd campy cassettes. But I don't use campy, so you'll have to do the footwork and go to their support site and read their doc's.

Or wait for someone that know's for certain <grin>
Iride01 is offline  
Old 03-31-20, 11:56 AM
  #3  
Huszi
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Campag casette

Thanks for your reply,
I have checked it is the same freehub body for 10 or 11 speed casettes.
Huszi is offline  
Old 03-31-20, 08:38 PM
  #4  
Ronsonic 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sunny Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Campy freehub from 9 through 12 speed are compatible with all cassettes in that range. May need to watch out for lock ring compatibility with both the freehub and the smallest cog.
Ronsonic is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 03:19 AM
  #5  
Huszi
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks, thatís right. My issue is everything was brand new and when I lined up the first cog it simply stucked right at the start. I had to use considerable force to push it on ( took me half an hour). As I forced it along the way the cog was carving off some of the aluminium off from the freehub body. (4 lines along the splines)

Is it possibly that tight?

The lockring came with the new casette and fit just fine.
Huszi is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 06:33 AM
  #6  
kingston 
Jedi Master
 
kingston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lake Forest, IL
Posts: 3,172

Bikes: http://stinkston.blogspot.com/p/my-bikes.html

Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked 184 Times in 128 Posts
Something is wrong. All the campy freehubs and cassettes are interchangeable, and the cassettes should slide on and off with almost no force at all.
kingston is online now  
Likes For kingston:
Old 04-01-20, 08:28 AM
  #7  
Iride01
Senior Member
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3,128

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked 226 Times in 171 Posts
Being bored, stuck at the house, and curious, I went to Campy's website and Ronsonic appears to be correct. Also I totally agree with kingston The correct parts shouldn't be doing what you describe. However if they were put on cockeyed and you didn't correct that before going any further, then possibly the correct parts might have done that.

Didn't drop your freehub on the floor and step on it when trying to retrieve it did you? Might be out of round. <grin>
Iride01 is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 08:33 AM
  #8  
Huszi
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks,
I tried to post photos but Iím not allowed yet. Newbee🤪!
Could it be the number of arms on the sprockets?
I was googling around and come across 4 arm and 8 arm sprockets for campag freehubs, but couldnít find anything reassuring.

The larger sprockets in my veloce 10 sp casette have 8 arms (tight ones) and the smaller sprockets have 4 arms and fit perfectly.
The 8 arm sprockets are causing the problem but I could not find anything about this on the internet.

Anyone could advise on that?
Thanks a lot
Huszi is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 08:51 AM
  #9  
Iride01
Senior Member
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3,128

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked 226 Times in 171 Posts
Originally Posted by Huszi View Post
I tried to post photos but Iím not allowed yet. Newbee🤪!
Usually takes about ten posts... So go make some comments on other threads somewhere. Or post links to the pics but put a space or something between parts or the url, if you can't do links yet either.
Iride01 is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 09:25 AM
  #10  
Huszi
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Finished with the lockring. Veloce 10 speed brand new on a brand new hub.
Huszi is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 09:32 AM
  #11  
kingston 
Jedi Master
 
kingston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lake Forest, IL
Posts: 3,172

Bikes: http://stinkston.blogspot.com/p/my-bikes.html

Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked 184 Times in 128 Posts
From that picture everything looks fine. To offer any suggestions we would need to see the freehub and the back of the cassette.
kingston is online now  
Old 04-01-20, 09:34 AM
  #12  
Huszi
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Photos

Ok. Now I can upload the photos.

The lockring and the first cog removed. Showing the smaller cogs with 4 arms. They fit perfectly.

The larger cogs have 8 arms and they are the ones really tight. I could not found anything specific about sprocket arms.

The brand new freehub body after a forced the cassette on.
Am I missing a point here? Or I am just plain st•pid..
Huszi is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 09:44 AM
  #13  
Iride01
Senior Member
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3,128

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked 226 Times in 171 Posts
Originally Posted by Huszi View Post
Am I missing a point here? Or I am just plain st•pid..
No, not if you stopped at the first sign of resistance and double checked what you were doing. Then checked again.

I can't say I've never forced something. However sometimes I have found that it was because I was in a moment of temporal stupidity. Hopefully it was only temporary. <grin>

On the serious side though, is that a Campagnolo made free hub or just a compatible made by another mfr?

But I'm still out of my element. I've never used or worked on Campy hubs or cassettes.
Iride01 is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 09:57 AM
  #14  
Huszi
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
thanks for the replies
https://www.stradawheels.co.uk/produ...-fella-deluxe/

I just bought this wheel set above.

They are built on dt swiss 350 hubs.
Now I have taken the photos I will email it to the guys at the work shop.

Honestly I am still expecting someone to come along and call me an idiot because I did something silly.
Huszi is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 01:32 PM
  #15  
gearbasher
Senior Member
 
gearbasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sitting on my butt in front of a computer
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked 63 Times in 40 Posts
It's a DT freehub body that is Campy compatible, correct? Maybe the DT isn't machined to the greatest tolerance.
Also. it appears that the gouges are in spots that don't contribute to driving the wheel.

Last edited by gearbasher; 04-01-20 at 01:41 PM.
gearbasher is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 02:24 PM
  #16  
kingston 
Jedi Master
 
kingston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lake Forest, IL
Posts: 3,172

Bikes: http://stinkston.blogspot.com/p/my-bikes.html

Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked 184 Times in 128 Posts
It doesn't look like you did any real damage, but the cogs should just slide on easily. A good rule of thumb is to never force anything unless you really know what you're doing and/or don't care if you break something.

You put them on one at a time like you have in the picture and they bind like that? You weren't trying to jam the whole cassette on in one go? I had a problem once trying to put a Miche campy cassette on a velocity campy freehub, but it was loose and sloppy not too tight. The velocity freehub works with campy cassettes and the miche cassette woks with campy freehubs, but they don't work with each other. Don't suppose you have another campy cassette you could try to see if the problem is with the freehub or the cassette? It seems more likely to me that a veloce cassette would be slightly out of spec than a DT freehub.
kingston is online now  
Old 04-01-20, 03:43 PM
  #17  
DaveSSS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 5,766

Bikes: TWO Colnago C-RS w/Chorus 12

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked 129 Times in 102 Posts
You put the largest sprockets on incorrectly. Use the very small protrusion of the spline pattern as your guide.

Those large sprocket teeth should make the same spiral pattern as the others.
DaveSSS is offline  
Old 04-01-20, 05:48 PM
  #18  
TiHabanero
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,964
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1001 Post(s)
Liked 279 Times in 155 Posts
It is not possible to install the large sprockets onto the freebody that far if the splines are not correctly aligned. It looks like the sprockets may be a little off tolerance. Take a file to them if desired, but overall that tight fit won't harm anything.
TiHabanero is offline  
Old 04-02-20, 03:56 AM
  #19  
Huszi
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thank you everyone

Thanks for all the replies.
I contacted the work shop and they said it is a case of very tight fitting cassette on this particular freehub body as the freehub body is campagnolo compatible but not made by campagnolo.
As long as I have the whole cassette on with a tight lock ring it should be ok.

Thanks a lot again👍
Huszi is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.