Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

First Time Serious Bike Purchase - Giant Roam 2?

Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Old 06-08-19, 06:57 PM
CircularReason

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey friends,

First post, and looking for advice. I'm trying to get into biking, partly for fun with my family, partly for exercise and adventure. I'm looking for something that will allow me to do a little bit of everything. In reality, probably 70% of my riding will be on back country roads, but I like the idea of going on trails and such (though admittedly, I've never actually done that). I have an LBS that's 15 minutes down the road, and they sell mainly Giant bikes. The owner there pointed me towards the Giant Roam 2 (2019). I tired it, and I like it, though again I have very little experience in this whole serious biking thing. So....

Is this a good bike to get for a do it all kind of bike? Is there other bikes I should be looking at? trek? Specialized (some other LBS near me have these?) I'm looking to stay around the price of the Roam 2, but if I need to go a little more for something that's the right bike, I'm willing to do that.

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-08-19, 09:26 PM
BookFinder 
Lifelong wheel gazer ...

Bikes: All garage sale finds...

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked 36 Times in 26 Posts
If it fits comfortably, and will support your purposes for riding, its right.

IMHO

Status quo is the mental bastion of the intellectually lethargic...
Old 06-08-19, 09:40 PM
Rje58

Bikes: 2011 Fuji Absolute 3.0 -- 1997 Trek 830 (modified to hybrid)

Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 548 Times in 170 Posts