Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Wahoo and Garmin Heart Rate Zone Display During Activity?

Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Wahoo and Garmin Heart Rate Zone Display During Activity?

Old 07-10-19, 06:19 PM
  #1  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
TimothyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,130

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6421 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 214 Posts
Wahoo and Garmin Heart Rate Zone Display During Activity?

I might be in the market for a new GPS and am looking at the Wahoo Bolt/Roam and the Garmin 830/1030.

How do these display heart rate zone during an normal activity which isn't a structured workout? I'm not interested in heart rate zone distribution or histogram after a ride but want to see the zone while riding a normal ride that isn't a structured workout - look down and see what zone I'm in.

Is Garmin able to do this without a ConnectIQ app? Is Wahoo able to do this at all? It is one of the features I love most about Polar and would hate to give it up.

Screen shots or photos would be welcome. I've not found anything online.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 07-10-19, 07:19 PM
  #2  
jadocs
Senior Member
 
jadocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 684

Bikes: Litespeed T2 Disc, Fondirest P4 Carbon, Fuji Cross 2.0, Specialized Fatboy

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked 52 Times in 39 Posts


Originally Posted by TimothyH View Post
I might be in the market for a new GPS and am looking at the Wahoo Bolt/Roam and the Garmin 830/1030.

How do these display heart rate zone during an normal activity which isn't a structured workout? I'm not interested in heart rate zone distribution or histogram after a ride but want to see the zone while riding a normal ride that isn't a structured workout - look down and see what zone I'm in.

Is Garmin able to do this without a ConnectIQ app? Is Wahoo able to do this at all? It is one of the features I love most about Polar and would hate to give it up.

Screen shots or photos would be welcome. I've not found anything online.


-Tim-
Yes Wahoo can do that. These are the display options.
jadocs is offline  
Old 07-10-19, 10:11 PM
  #3  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 19,068
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7969 Post(s)
Liked 183 Times in 121 Posts
Garmin gives you the option to display your current HR as a number (eg 155 bpm), as a zone number (3.1), or as a graphical gauge.

They can also auto detect your LTHR and base your zones around it.

I haven't used a dedicated bike computer in years, but those have the same thing:

Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 07-11-19, 06:18 AM
  #4  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
TimothyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,130

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6421 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 214 Posts
Originally Posted by jadocs View Post
Yes Wahoo can do that. These are the display options.
Thanks. I was concerned because a device which can't display current heart rate zone while riding would be off my list.

Do you have any idea how it looks on the device itself? I'd purchase a Roam today if I could see what it looked like and thought it looked good.


Originally Posted by Seattle Forrest View Post
Garmin gives you the option to display your current HR as a number (eg 155 bpm), as a zone number (3.1), or as a graphical gauge.
That graphic is what I'm looking for. Is that a ConnectIQ app or is it native to the device?


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 07-11-19, 06:28 AM
  #5  
jadocs
Senior Member
 
jadocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 684

Bikes: Litespeed T2 Disc, Fondirest P4 Carbon, Fuji Cross 2.0, Specialized Fatboy

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked 52 Times in 39 Posts
Originally Posted by TimothyH View Post
Thanks. I was concerned because a device which can't display current heart rate zone while riding would be off my list.

Do you have any idea how it looks on the device itself? I'd purchase a Roam today if I could see what it looked like and thought it looked good.




That graphic is what I'm looking for. Is that a ConnectIQ app or is it native to the device?


-Tim-
I don't because I am at work at the moment, but it can display just like SeattleForest describes. Each one of those fields above is selectable so you can have a whole page dedicated to HR being displayed in different ways if you want. All native to the device. No middleware required.
jadocs is offline  
Old 07-11-19, 09:40 AM
  #6  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
TimothyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,130

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6421 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 214 Posts
Excellent. Thanks again.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Likes For TimothyH:
Old 07-11-19, 09:53 AM
  #7  
ksryder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,812

Bikes: yes

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked 60 Times in 33 Posts
Originally Posted by TimothyH View Post
Do you have any idea how it looks on the device itself? I'd purchase a Roam today if I could see what it looked like and thought it looked good.
On the BOLT you can display the current heart rate as a number and you can also set the LED lights to reflect heart rate zones, which you can also customize. I haven't seen a ROAM in person but I assume it has at least the baseline functionality of the BOLT if not more.

Not sure if there are other HR display options because I'm at my desk at work. But I will say that Wahoo support is pretty responsive and have always answered my questions in a timely manner.
ksryder is offline  
Old 07-11-19, 10:20 AM
  #8  
jadocs
Senior Member
 
jadocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 684

Bikes: Litespeed T2 Disc, Fondirest P4 Carbon, Fuji Cross 2.0, Specialized Fatboy

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked 52 Times in 39 Posts
I will concur that Wahoo support is phenomenal. They just sent me a new Tickr because the snap on my old chest strap broke.
jadocs is offline  
Old 07-11-19, 10:29 AM
  #9  
terrymorse
Climbing Fool
 
terrymorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 3,041

Bikes: Scott Addict R1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 8 Posts
I use a Garmin Edge 810, with a vivosmart 3 wrist band to transmit heart rate (don't like the Garmin chest strap). I assume the Edge 830 is very similar.

You set up your personal heart rate zones on the Edge, then it will display your current heart rate zone on any screen as a decimal number (1.5, 2.9, 3.6, etc.).

Setting up heart rate zones:


Garmin Edge 810 User Manual
__________________
Ride, Rest, Repeat
terrymorse is offline  
Old 07-11-19, 10:29 AM
  #10  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 19,068
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7969 Post(s)
Liked 183 Times in 121 Posts
Originally Posted by TimothyH View Post
That graphic is what I'm looking for. Is that a ConnectIQ app or is it native to the device?
That's native. I haven't felt much need for CIQ data fields. Some of the wishes and watch faces are excellent. I use one that shows me a 3 day forecast from Dark Sky along with the time.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 07-11-19, 10:32 AM
  #11  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 19,068
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7969 Post(s)
Liked 183 Times in 121 Posts
Originally Posted by terrymorse View Post
You set up your personal heart rate zones on the Edge, then it will display your current heart rate zone on any
Random aside. When the 810 was released (and the manual), that was the only way to set your zones up, in the device itself. Now you can do that on the web site (Connect) and your zones will sync to your device. So you don't have to go into the menus.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Likes For Seattle Forrest:
Old 07-11-19, 03:33 PM
  #12  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
TimothyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,130

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6421 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 214 Posts
I have heart rate zones set up on four devices based on tested lactic threshold using the Friel method. I don't need help setting up zones but really appreciate that you took the time to post. It means a lot to me.

Originally Posted by terrymorse View Post
it will display your current heart rate zone on any screen as a decimal number (1.5, 2.9, 3.6, etc.).
This is exactly what I'm after. It actually sounds really nice. Thank you!


Originally Posted by ksryder View Post
you can also set the LED lights to reflect heart rate zones, which you can also customize.
Great information as well. Again, this sounds like a great feature.Thanks!!!


-Tim-

Last edited by TimothyH; 07-11-19 at 03:52 PM.
TimothyH is offline  
Old 07-11-19, 03:43 PM
  #13  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
Thread Starter
 
TimothyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,130

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6421 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 214 Posts
To the point of this thread, the Polar V650 shows what zone you are in while riding. In the graphic below is shows the rider is in zone 3 and has been there for a total of 32 min 15 sec.



If the heart rate display is tapped, it shows a detailed view of that zone, where you are within the zone and beeps when you go above or below the zone. This is called "Zone Lock."



I find both zone displays incredibly useful for metering effort, especially at the end of long, hard rides. The first graphic at the top of this post is my primary metric, on screen almost all the time.

This is the sort of functionality I'm looking to replicate but understand the way it is displayed to the rider may be different across brands. Any further information about how this is implemented would be welcomed.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 07-11-19, 05:38 PM
  #14  
jadocs
Senior Member
 
jadocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 684

Bikes: Litespeed T2 Disc, Fondirest P4 Carbon, Fuji Cross 2.0, Specialized Fatboy

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked 52 Times in 39 Posts
FYI, I have been corresponding with Wahoo support on a separate issue and asked if it was possible to incorporate a 7 zone option based on threshold (since wahoo acquired SufferFest) and was told that he thought it made sense. He told me he put in a feature request for the developers. Hopefully it is incorporated.
jadocs is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.