Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Having trouble with a KMC Quick link.

Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Having trouble with a KMC Quick link.

Old 03-14-20, 06:32 PM
  #1  
robertj298 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
robertj298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 504

Bikes: 1985 Specialized Sequoia, 1986 Miyata 912, 1987 Centurion Ironman Expert, 1988 Miyata 615, 1989 Centurion Ironman Expert

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 92 Times in 49 Posts
Having trouble with a KMC Quick link.

I've put these on another bike that has a 7 speed chain no problem. I went to
put one on my old ironman and I can't get it to close right. It's as if the chain is too wide
I used the quick link for a 6-7-8 speed chain. I tried 3 different ones with no success.
robertj298 is offline  
Old 03-14-20, 07:32 PM
  #2  
UKFan4Sure 
Useless Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked 155 Times in 104 Posts
It helps to orient the connect at the top, where pressure is on the chain when you push the crank. Then, hold the rear brake and smack the pedal with a heavy rubber mallet. The force usually does the trick. I did have one fussy chain that it wouldn't work, though
__________________
2013 Schwinn Paramount Series 8, 2015 Specialized Roubaix Competition, 2008 Trek Portland, 1986 Schwinn LeTour, 1985 Peugeot PGN-10, 1986 Schwinn Voyageur
UKFan4Sure is offline  
Old 03-14-20, 07:36 PM
  #3  
SalsaShark
Senior Member
 
SalsaShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 383

Bikes: 2014 Trek Allant drop bar conversion, modified Schwinn MTN commuter, 2015 Trek 520, Soma ES, Salsa Journeyman

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 52 Posts
Have you tried to complete the link closure by putting the link joint in position between the crank and cassette (the top being pulled forward by the crank) with the bike on the ground, and simply stepping on the pedal to tension the chain, popping the link together? It works every time for me.
SalsaShark is online now  
Old 03-14-20, 07:55 PM
  #4  
robertj298 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
robertj298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 504

Bikes: 1985 Specialized Sequoia, 1986 Miyata 912, 1987 Centurion Ironman Expert, 1988 Miyata 615, 1989 Centurion Ironman Expert

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 92 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by SalsaShark View Post
Have you tried to complete the link closure by putting the link joint in position between the crank and cassette (the top being pulled forward by the crank) with the bike on the ground, and simply stepping on the pedal to tension the chain, popping the link together? It works every time for me.
I'll give it a try but it almost seems like the chain is to wide. When I put one on before it snapped into place before pulling the chain to lock it
robertj298 is offline  
Old 03-14-20, 08:11 PM
  #5  
wesmamyke 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked 18 Times in 17 Posts
They have made two versions/widths of the 7/8spd links. I had to buy a second type for Shimano chains at some point.

7.3mm and 7.1mm I think are the two sizes.
wesmamyke is offline  
Old 03-14-20, 08:14 PM
  #6  
Hudson308 
Mr. Anachronism
 
Hudson308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: City of Lakes
Posts: 1,925

Bikes: fillet-brazed Chicago Schwinns, and some other stuff

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked 147 Times in 100 Posts
I bought one of these on eBay. They work really slick for opening or closing the KMC quick links, as well as other brands.
__________________
"If we don't change direction soon, we'll end up where we're going." -Irwin Corey

Last edited by Hudson308; 03-14-20 at 08:21 PM.
Hudson308 is offline  
Likes For Hudson308:
Old 03-14-20, 08:18 PM
  #7  
SalsaShark
Senior Member
 
SalsaShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 383

Bikes: 2014 Trek Allant drop bar conversion, modified Schwinn MTN commuter, 2015 Trek 520, Soma ES, Salsa Journeyman

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 52 Posts
Originally Posted by robertj298 View Post
When I put one on before it snapped into place before pulling the chain to lock it
You may have used a link that was too wide for the chain (for example an 8 speed link on 9 speed chain) In my experience with many chains of various speeds and the supplied KMC quick conectors, they have to be forced pretty good before snapping together, especially the first time when new. I have never had one snap into place on the chain it was designed for without a good amount of force, and would not trust the link if it did slide together without a bit of effort.
SalsaShark is online now  
Old 03-14-20, 08:24 PM
  #8  
robertj298 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
robertj298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 504

Bikes: 1985 Specialized Sequoia, 1986 Miyata 912, 1987 Centurion Ironman Expert, 1988 Miyata 615, 1989 Centurion Ironman Expert

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 92 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by SalsaShark View Post
You may have used a link that was too wide for the chain (for example an 8 speed link on 9 speed chain) In my experience with many chains of various speeds and the supplied KMC quick conectors, they have to be forced pretty good before snapping together, especially the first time when new. I have never had one snap into place on the chain it was designed for without a good amount of force, and would not trust the link if it did slide together without a bit of effort.
The one I put on before came with the chain. This one the problem seems that it doesn't click into the large part of the hole where the slot is before you pull the chain to lock it into place.
robertj298 is offline  
Old 03-14-20, 08:31 PM
  #9  
jackbombay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Eastern Idaho
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked 266 Times in 170 Posts
Originally Posted by Hudson308 View Post
I bought one of these on eBay. They work really slick for opening or closing the KMC quick links, as well as other brands.
Yes!

I have a 2 pronged model, but it works great, $8 I think.
jackbombay is offline  
Old 03-14-20, 09:02 PM
  #10  
robertj298 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
robertj298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 504

Bikes: 1985 Specialized Sequoia, 1986 Miyata 912, 1987 Centurion Ironman Expert, 1988 Miyata 615, 1989 Centurion Ironman Expert

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 92 Times in 49 Posts
I believe even though the link says 6-7-8 speed it is not wide enough for the chain.
The pin does not go through far enough for the groove in the pin to catch on the edge of the link.
Guess I'll just get a new chain.
robertj298 is offline  
Old 03-14-20, 09:06 PM
  #11  
SalsaShark
Senior Member
 
SalsaShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 383

Bikes: 2014 Trek Allant drop bar conversion, modified Schwinn MTN commuter, 2015 Trek 520, Soma ES, Salsa Journeyman

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 52 Posts
Originally Posted by wesmamyke View Post
They have made two versions/widths of the 7/8spd links. I had to buy a second type for Shimano chains at some point.

7.3mm and 7.1mm I think are the two sizes.
i assumed the OP was installing a new KMC chain with a factory supplied quick link, but i think maybe he is trying to add a quick link to an existing chain, or chain of different manufacturer. If this is the case, you might be correct that he has the narrower link, and needs the wider 7.3mm version.
KMC 7.3mm missing link

Last edited by SalsaShark; 03-14-20 at 09:10 PM.
SalsaShark is online now  
Old 03-14-20, 09:30 PM
  #12  
robertj298 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
robertj298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 504

Bikes: 1985 Specialized Sequoia, 1986 Miyata 912, 1987 Centurion Ironman Expert, 1988 Miyata 615, 1989 Centurion Ironman Expert

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 92 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by SalsaShark View Post
i assumed the OP was installing a new KMC chain with a factory supplied quick link, but i think maybe he is trying to add a quick link to an existing chain, or chain of different manufacturer. If this is the case, you might be correct that he has the narrower link, and needs the wider 7.3mm version.
KMC 7.3mm missing link
I do have the 7.3 mm link
robertj298 is offline  
Old 03-14-20, 09:48 PM
  #13  
SalsaShark
Senior Member
 
SalsaShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 383

Bikes: 2014 Trek Allant drop bar conversion, modified Schwinn MTN commuter, 2015 Trek 520, Soma ES, Salsa Journeyman

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 52 Posts
Originally Posted by robertj298 View Post
I do have the 7.3 mm link
i guess at this point i would cave and buy a new chain. I picked up a new KMC 6/7/8 for a project recently that came with a quick link for about $12; money well spent! Sorry I can't help you any further.
SalsaShark is online now  
Old 03-14-20, 09:54 PM
  #14  
Miele Man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,383

Bikes: Miele Latina, Miele Suprema, Miele Uno SL, Miele MTB, Bianchi Model Unknown, Fiori Venezia, VeloSport Adamas AX

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 849 Post(s)
Liked 421 Times in 293 Posts
Perhaps the wrong like was packaged?

I'd take the link back t o the shop I got it from and ask them to check it.

Is this a new chain too? I ask because if the chain is rusty or even dirty that might cause the problem you're having.

Please let us know what the fix is for your problem.

Cheers
Miele Man is online now  
Old 03-14-20, 10:35 PM
  #15  
ramzilla
Senior Member
 
ramzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Fernandina Beach FL
Posts: 3,035

Bikes: Vintage Japanese Bicycles, Tange, Ishiwata, Kuwahara

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked 137 Times in 115 Posts
The KMC quick links don't work on all chains.
ramzilla is offline  
Old 03-14-20, 11:20 PM
  #16  
stardognine
Senior Member
 
stardognine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Arid Arizona, for now.
Posts: 2,531

Bikes: 1995 Cannondale Killer V

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 648 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 212 Times in 159 Posts
Originally Posted by jackbombay View Post
Yes!

I have a 2 pronged model, but it works great, $8 I think.
You can also cheat, & use hemostats. 😎
stardognine is offline  
Old 03-20-20, 07:15 PM
  #17  
RobbieTunes 
Half drunk? Finish!
 
RobbieTunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Very Southern Indiana
Posts: 27,134
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked 872 Times in 552 Posts
Originally Posted by stardognine View Post
You can also cheat, & use hemostats. 😎
I'd skip a cup of coffee and get a new chain.
__________________
Robbie ♪♫♪...☻
I have unfinished business.

RobbieTunes is offline  
Old 03-20-20, 08:52 PM
  #18  
robertj298 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
robertj298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 504

Bikes: 1985 Specialized Sequoia, 1986 Miyata 912, 1987 Centurion Ironman Expert, 1988 Miyata 615, 1989 Centurion Ironman Expert

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 92 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by RobbieTunes View Post
I'd skip a cup of coffee and get a new chain.
Exactly. New chain and the quick link clicked right on. Ended up replacing the freewheel with a hyperglide freewheel and it shifts smooth as silk
robertj298 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.