Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > "The 33"-Road Bike Racing
Reload this Page >

Racers.... let's talk training.

Search
Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-05, 03:04 PM
PolishPostal
CAT 2 wanna be

Bikes: 2011 Fuji SL1.0

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Ok. I sorted of asked this question previously but I would like to get much more detail.

I'm a CAT 5 trying to find a training program that will produce the best results. I've been riding for about 16 months. I did my first race 4 months ago and plan to do at least 9 races this coming year to upgrade to CAT 4. Up to about a month ago I have not trained with any real plan, I've just rode easy days and hard days.

For the past month I've been following the training schedule that I developed from Joe Friel's Cyclist Training Bible. I'm in Base 2 right now. I think so far I'm seeing decent results with the base training. I am thinking ahead to next year. With this base training I'm losing my "top end". Would I be better off next year to repeat this process or try to maintain the gains?

It seems that one of my limiters is recovery after hard efforts (near MHR efforts). If I don't back off considerable following these efforts my HR sort of hangs and doesn't drop. I hope that makes sense. I don't know if there are certain workouts that I can do to improve this or if that is just how it is going to be.

I'm very intersted to hear what other more experienced racers are doing with training. What methods have you seen that produce the best results for you?