Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Vittoria Corsa Tubular Base tape latex removal-- Did I just ruin my tires?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-17, 01:31 PM
JohnES

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello, This is my first attempt at mounting tubulars at home. Started with new rims (aluminum) and new Vittoria Corsas.

I read several places that the excess latex needs to be removed from the base tape in order for the glue to adhere properly. I used a file (as suggested many places) and the excess latex came off in gummy blobs. It took about 20-30 minutes of work to clean each tire. The base tape looked suitably cotton colored when I was done, but was a little but fuzzy form being abraded.

After I applied the first coat of glue (Vittoria Mastik One) the surface of the base tape was lumpy from the glue coating the stay fibers. Is this normal or have I just ruined a nice set of tires?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Regards,
John
Old 09-08-17, 01:33 PM
rpenmanparker 

Bikes: 1990 Romic Reynolds 531 custom build, Merlin Works CR Ti custom build, super light Workswell 066 custom build

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6556 Post(s)
Liked 58 Times in 36 Posts
I have never done that. Hard to believe the new tries aren't sold ready to mount.

Not everyone agrees, but I am a strong proponent of Tufo gluing tape instead of glue. Totally mess free. There are other brands also that have their own fans.

Originally Posted by LAJ
No matter where I go, here I am...
Old 09-08-17, 05:23 PM