Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Hybrid bike help

Old 05-27-20, 05:52 AM
FAD_C

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hybrid bike help

Hi guys, I'm looking for a hybrid bike mostly to commute to work. I'm down to these 3 bikes:
Pinnacle Neon 5 2020
Cannondale Quick 2 2020
Specialized Sirrus 3.0 2020

any thoughts would be super helpful guys. I'm not a bike expert
cheers
Old 05-27-20, 06:40 AM
hillyman
WALSTIB

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked 384 Times in 183 Posts
During these times I'd go with which one is in stock unless you have black market bike sales connections. Good luck on you search

Old 05-27-20, 06:59 AM
daoswald

Bikes: 2008 Cannondale Synapse -- 2014 Cannondale Quick CX

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked 83 Times in 54 Posts
It's hard to find an expert in all three.

I have a Quick CX 3. The Quick 2 (not-CX) is a good bike. The frame is sturdy and versatile, with mount points for fenders and rack. The gearing 50/34 and 11-34 means you have ratios from 1:1 on up, so good for hills. The frame accepts tires up to somewhere around 42mm. The bike will feel agile yet stable. There's no suspension, and I like it that way. I would have preferred the non-suspension Quick too, but on the used market I only found my Quick CX.

The components seem to be Sora level, which is perfectly fine for your needs. On my Quick CX I have a rear rack mounted, and regularly commute with it using one or two panniers. It handles the load of a laptop or panniers full of groceries just fine. And it's still fun to ride.

Anyway, I'd go with the Quick because it's what I know, and I know it's a good bike. But people with experience with the other two bikes may prefer one of the others.