Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Soma Mini Velo or Mercier Nano?

Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Old 06-07-12, 06:47 PM
marque

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi, I'm thinking about purchasing a mini velo for city to city use. I've been looking around the forums about mercier nano upgrades but some have mentioned that the cost of upgrading could become pricey, I'm also a bike newbie... should I go with the soma mini velo instead? Given that the some online stores sell them 750$.. I've also looked at the citta but it's just not my thing.. I'd appreciate any input, thank you!
Old 06-07-12, 07:00 PM
Dynocoaster 

Bikes: Too many....................

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 5 Posts
The Soma is a nice bike and $750 sounds like a good deal over what they went for originally. The Nano is $300 but you could put another $300 for upgrades.
Old 06-08-12, 06:13 PM
airwulf

Bikes: Brompton H6L, DT Mini, DT 9FS, Dahon Ciao P8, Dahon Classic 3(x2), Dahon TR, R20, Raleigh Chopper III, Auto Mini Jr., Mercier Nano, Giant Anyroad2

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a Nano and really like it but if I was going to buy another mini velo it would be the Soma. I put over $300 in minor upgrades so far and have improved my bike but it's far from being a perfect ride for me.
Old 06-09-12, 06:25 AM
Vampy

Bikes: Dahon Smooth Hound

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Soma is a great looking minivelo, I guess it all depends on your budget and commitment. If, as you say, you are a newbie to the bike world, then the mercier will let you test if you actually like it or not for less money, and then if you do you will be able to upgrade as you wish.

If you are sure to like riding, I´d go for the Soma. It´s a great package, and that´s a really good price.