Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

How to actually sit on a bike?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-12, 07:59 AM
noodlesoup

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello. New here. If this is the wrong forum, I apologize.

I started riding about 3 months ago. I'm not really sure what the proper 'category' for what I'm doing is. I have a mountain-ish-bike but I ride around where I live, which is a heavily-populated, urban area (i.e.: pavement). Also of note, I know nothing about nothing when it comes down to bikes. I just pedal.

I have a question about what is the proper posture for your buttocks when riding, which I have a hard time putting into words, so bear with me.

I find that there's quite a bit of an angle for your lower back/hips to move once you're actually seated on the saddle.

I read somewhere that your back should be 'arched like a bridge', so I thought of sort of pushing my lower back 'forward', which seems to flex/lock part of my abdomen and my butt. While this feels like a somewhat unnatural way of riding, it actually looks like the 'arched like a bridge' thing. I can ride this way without too much discomfort, but I do find my legs getting tired more easily this way.

The other end would be to stick your butt out, which just seems to put a lot more pressure on the peritoneum (sp?) area and me no likey. In turn, this would make your chest droop forward, which also doesn't seem like the proper posture.