Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Road bike tire recommendation please

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Old 03-25-20, 01:48 AM
sean.hwy

Bikes: Blur / Ibis Hakka MX / team machince alr2 / topstone 1

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked 272 Times in 200 Posts

I should preface this with I am new to road bikes with skinny little tires. Upon until a few weeks ago I have only owned bmx bikes, mountain bikes, commuter bike with fat 47mm tire.

I ride my road commuter bike every where.
47mm road tires. Took it
mountain biking a few times. No flats ( yet )

My Road bike systemsix I take slow over rail road tracks. Never
been off a curb. Never been in dirt, gravel road etc..
Only had it a few weeks. I get a flat. I should say I got a blow out. I hit something and I heard all the air rushing out. That has never happen to me. I have lots tires have slow leaks, never a blow out that left me stranded.
Walked an hour home. lol

It currently has:
Rims Fulcrum Racing 400 DB, Alloy clincher, 35mm deep
Tires Vittoria Rubino Pro Speed, 700 x 26mm (23c)

Should I take this opportunity to up grade the tires? Go tubeless?
more durable, faster tire?
Or just throw in tube in it and chalk it up to bad luck.
Old 03-25-20, 03:26 AM
jgwilliams

Bikes: Dolan Tuono 105 Di2, custom built 653 and 531 bikes with frames by Barry Witcomb, Sonder Dial XT mountain bike and a Brompton folding bike.

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked 139 Times in 99 Posts
It sounds like you had a 'snake-bite' or pinch flat which is normally caused by not having sufficient air pressure in the tyre. It's certainly true that going tubeless will stop you having that kind of flat but there's no tubed tyre that would have behaved differently.