Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Pain in the butt!

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Pain in the butt!

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-17, 09:35 AM
TexLex100

Bikes: Kona Wheelhouse

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pain in the butt!

I have been riding my bicycle on and off for the past three years or so. maximum ride was probably 20 miles. I still find the stock bicycle seat that came with my bike to be painful even after 5 miles. Should I persevere and hopefully things would improve, or should I consider switching to another (softer?) seat? I also feel that I was to push myself half an inch aft. Thanks.
Old 08-12-17, 09:56 AM
RonH
Life is good

Bikes: 2018 Lynskey Helix Pro

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
After 3 years your backside should be "broken in". What saddle do you have?
I've been thru several saddles over the years and have settled on this.

I am a cyclist. I am not the fastest or the fittest. But I will get to where I'm going with a smile on my face.
Old 08-12-17, 11:25 AM
70sSanO

Bikes: 1986 Cannondale SR400 (Flat bar commuter), 1988 Cannondale Criterium XTR, 1992 Serotta T-Max, 1995 Trek 970

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Quoted: 1944 Post(s)
Liked 2,164 Times in 1,323 Posts
You should consider a different saddle, but not necessarily softer. Too soft may not provide enough support. You need to match a saddle to your sit bones. And depending on the pain, you may want to go with a cut-out or channeled saddle.

Everyone has personal preferences. Some bike shops will have a loaner program.

John
Old 08-12-17, 11:37 AM
TexLex100

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by RonH
After 3 years your backside should be "broken in". What saddle do you have?