Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

Need help for picking the right hybrid

Search
Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-16, 11:15 AM
MM71

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey guys,

Newbie here. I started biking two years ago and bought a used bike from my friend. It was a very cheap mountain bike and my friend bought it at a local store for CDN$300. I only use it for like picking up grocery or running my errands. Since I'm planning to bike to work, this bike won't cut it. So, I'm in the market looking for a new bike. My commute is about 17km one way and it includes a bit of gravel road and the rest is paved bike path. I went to a couple of bike shops and I was suggested to buy hybrid. After a bit of research, I narrowed my focus down to three bikes : Gaint Roam 0, Specialized Crosstrail Elite(2016), Specialized Crosstrail Comp Disc(2016). I have tried Giant Roam 2 and like the feel of it. But I couldn't find Roam 0 anywhere to do the test ride(I'm from Ottawa by the way). That goes same from both Specialized. A sales representative from Giant told me that Roam 0 should feel the same as Roam 2 but lighter. And I couldn't find Specialized to do the test ride either since I ride small and they only have medium for test unit. So here I am asking suggestion from you guys..Should I get either Roam 0 or Elite (They are about the same price in my city). Or spend extra 300 to get Comp. I'm 34 years old male if that's relevant.

Specialized Comp :
https://www.sportinglife.ca/sportingl...ike-%5B2016%5D

Specialized Elite :
https://www.sportinglife.ca/sportingl...ike-%5B2016%5D

Giant Roam 0 :
https://www.giantottawa.ca/en-ca/bike...c/24681/89666/

Last edited by MM71; 05-15-16 at 11:47 AM.
Old 05-15-16, 11:38 AM
Allez3

Bikes: Sirrus, Midnight Special (almost there)

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 550 Post(s)