Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Sealing tubelss road tires

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-13, 12:57 PM
yannisg

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 22 Posts

I have been using tubeless road tires for over 2 yrs. Shimano DuraAce C24 tubeless rims/Hutchinson fusion 3 tubeless tires. Every 6-8 months I remove the tires, and clean rims and tires thoroughly from the Stan's sealant residue. Usually, with some difficulty, I can seal the tire to the rim after adding sealant; I use a compressor. Recently, I tried to seal a used tire to a new rim, but failed after many attempts, and manipulating the tire in areas where it was loosing air. The tire had been thoroughly cleaned. Another used tire sealed with moderate difficulty to a used rim. In the passed 2 yrs I have ran into problems sealing the tires, but eventually they have all sealed. Even though this time I have made many more attempts I have not been able to seal it.
Any ideas how to overcome this difficulty.
Thanks
YannisG
Old 01-24-13, 02:23 PM
dabac

Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Quoted: 1074 Post(s)
Liked 295 Times in 222 Posts
Why are you removing and cleaning the rims/tires out, what are you hoping to achieve with that?
Isn't the recommendation to simply fit them, inject the sealant, and then maybe top up a little as/if needed, until the tire wears out.
Old 01-24-13, 02:46 PM
reptilezs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
if you are using true ust tires and wheels then you do not need sealant. some tires are tubeless ready which are a normal tire with the tubeless style bead. if doing a rim conversion then use sealant
Old 01-24-13, 02:53 PM
Jed19

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts