Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

First Raleigh Rebuild Nightmare

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-20, 08:32 AM
edlt

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I recently bought a Raleigh Stratos (see below) as a project to keep me busy during lockdown.
This is my first time taking a bike apart so I need some advice.

the bike has a Maillard 3983 hub with 6spd cassette.
When I removed the skewer from the rear wheel half of the axel fell out from the drive side followed by the bearings. There were no dust caps fitted, just the axel being held in place by the skewer and the bike frame. Is this normal?

I did not have to remove the cassette or anything else just the skewer and the axel fell straight out the hub.

Images are in my gallery. Any advice is appreciated.

Last edited by edlt; 07-18-20 at 08:46 AM.
Old 07-18-20, 08:44 AM
daverup 

Bikes: A bunch of old bikes.

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked 871 Times in 417 Posts
You need 10 posts for picture attachment. Your pics uploaded to your gallery,
https://www.bikeforums.net/g/album/18541657

It looks like you need a new axle
Old 07-18-20, 08:52 AM
Pars 

Bikes: '73 Raleigh RRA, 1986 Trek 500 commuter

Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 11 Posts
The axle is a single piece. In your picture, you can see where yours snapped just left of the left cone.

Likes For Pars:
Old 07-18-20, 08:56 AM
Unca_Sam
The dropped

Bikes: Pake C'Mute Touring/Commuter Build, 1989 Kona Cinder Cone, 1995 Trek 5200, 1973 Raleigh Super Course FG, 1960/61 Montgomery Ward Hawthorne "thrift" 3 speed, by Hercules (sold) : 1966 Schwinn Deluxe Racer (sold)

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 1739 Post(s)
Liked 1,014 Times in 696 Posts