Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Derailleur/Hanger Question

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-20, 09:45 AM
EricSMorris

Bikes: Mid-80s Raleigh Wyoming 555

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Please forgive me in advance for my lack of knowledge; I am very new to cycling.

Is it possible to replace this bent direct-mount derailleur hanger with one that mounts to the wheel bolt? I already wanted a new cassette and derailleur anyway, and it seems it might be easier to just lop this one off to get it out of the way (instead of trying to straighten it) and add a new one that fastens to either the inside or the outside of the wheel mount, but I know very little about these things and tend not to “internet” very well. Thank you so much! Also, I wanted to include a few photos of it but apparently I haven’t posted here enough to do that yet.
Old 08-19-20, 09:53 AM
fietsbob
Banned

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,355 Times in 862 Posts
Probably, ask the dealer you bought the bike from. ? there are literally hundreds of different replaceable derailleur hangers ..
Old 08-19-20, 09:54 AM
EricSMorris

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by fietsbob
Probably, ask the dealer you bought the bike from. ? there are literally hundreds of different replaceable derailleur hangers ..
Unfortunately it was a gift. It’s an old 80s Raleigh Wyoming, and I am having a hard time finding anything listed as compatible.
Old 08-19-20, 10:03 AM
fietsbob
Banned

Raleigh USA is a brand distributed thru Seattle Bike Supply, POE Tacoma.

https://www.raleighusa.com/

https://www.raleighusa.com/contact-us
Old 08-19-20, 10:05 AM
dsbrantjr