Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

Tubeless tire riddled with thorns - when to replace?

Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-20, 02:55 PM
zpl
Bike Fun Fanatic

Bikes: 2020 Trek Checkpoint ALR5, 2012 Surly Disc Trucker

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 7 Posts

I'm new to tubeless tires and they were a life-saver on a recent ride I did out in goathead country. Along the ride I pulled out a few goatheads as I found them in my tires and they sealed up nicely.

However, now that I'm home, I thought I'd take some time to go over my tires for any stragglers. On my front tire in particular, I had around a dozen or so thorns embedded into the tire which I removed. Some of them sealed up quickly, others took a few minutes to seal and made a nice puddle of sealant on the floor until I started putting some rags down. My tires are GK SKs in 700x43.

I'm wondering at what point would you replace a tubeless tire that's riddled with (mostly) pinholes? I'm a bit nervous that the next time I top up sealant that once the tire deflates, my next inflation with the compressor is going to result in sealant shooting out of 10+ holes in the tire all at once. Or is the sealant more solid as a plug than I'm thinking? Thanks for any advice.
Old 09-23-20, 02:58 PM
chas58

Bikes: too many of all kinds

Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Quoted: 1147 Post(s)
Liked 415 Times in 335 Posts
I think you will be fine - as long as it is holding the same amount of air day to day, week to week.

Its a thin layer of latex. Its not as sensitive as lambskin, but you know...
Old 09-23-20, 05:58 PM