Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Just getting into touring

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-17, 10:45 AM
mattbur

Bikes: 2018 Specialized Sirrus, 2016 Surly Disc Trucker, 800 MTB for winter use

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm just getting into touring so I've been reading as much about it as I can. Most things are self explanatory but I did notice one thing that isn't.

Going thru the sticky thread "pictures of your loaded bikes" I noticed a fair number of bikes with all the loaded bags on the front end of the bike. Is there a reason for this? Is it or could it be for handling?

The wife and I canoe camped for many years and a properly trimmed canoe was a must with only a couple exceptions that I can think of.

So what's the deal with front loaded bikes??

Thanks guys, Tony

and ladies
Old 06-26-17, 10:57 AM
boomhauer

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked 45 Times in 32 Posts
If you stand on the pedals and go uphill you will see that front load panniers are very stable compared to nothing on the front.
I personally don't do this but have tried it and I get it.
Old 06-26-17, 11:04 AM
gauvins

Bikes: Custom built LHT & Troll

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 846 Post(s)
Liked 149 Times in 106 Posts
Originally Posted by mattbur
Is there a reason for this? Is it or could it be for handling?
I tour either as the designated mule (i.e. carrying all luggage for a family of 4 -- my wife trails the little one), or solo/duo.

Under the first scenario, it means a trailer (extraWheel) + front and rear panniers. I put as little weight as I can in the rear panniers.

Under the second scenario, I've transitioned from rear to front panniers, for three reasons :