Search
Notices
Classic and Vintage Bicycles: Whats it Worth? Appraisals. Use this subforum for all requests as to "How much is this vintage bike worth?"Do NOT try to sell it in here, use the Marketplaces.

Centurion LeMans RS

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-18, 10:25 PM
bikenub4

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Centurion LeMans RS

Hi everyone,

I am 5'11'' 145 lbs and a complete beginner. I went to Amsterdam recently and loved cycling so I decided to start this as a new hobby. I saw this bike going for $160. Should I buy it? How much is it worth?

"Vintage seafoam green and white Centurion LeMans RS. Shimano light action groupset. Index shifting. Anodized gold rims. Newer tires. Tange 2 tubing, made in Japan, nice frame. Needs bar tape. 57cm. Over all condition is very good for its vintage. Will fit a rider 5'10" to 6'1"... give or take " <--- that is the description.

Thanks a lot. Please feel free to give me some advice.

I like biking but I am worried about prostate health. When I bike for long periods of time I get a little sore there. My friend says posture has a lot to do with it.

Cheers mates,

Walter.
Old 01-03-18, 07:28 AM
StarBiker

Bikes: Bianchi Grizzly, Cannondale F700,

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 807 Post(s)
Liked 154 Times in 123 Posts
Yeah, and although I think if the bike is in nice shape it's a good buy, but you need a bike that fits. And older Road Bike might not be for you.
Old 01-03-18, 12:15 PM
Aubergine 
Bad example

Bikes: Peugeot: AO-8 1973, PA-10 1971, PR-10 1973, Sante 1988; Masi Gran Criterium 1975, Stevenson Tourer 1980, Stevenson Criterium 1981, Schwinn Paramount 1972, Rodriguez 2006, Gitane Federal ~1975, Holdsworth Pro, Follis 172 ~1973, Bianchi '62

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Liked 212 Times in 96 Posts
I have a red and white Le Mans RS. Nice bike, but I agree that a 57 cm frame is likely to be a bit small for you. If it does fit, $160 seems a good price.