Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

SA Front Dynohub Problems

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-10, 03:50 PM
jasminereeds

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I apologize that I am a bit of a rookie in terms of knowing how my bike works inside and out. With that in mind...

So I picked up one of these old front dynohubs (from e-bay, sigh), but I'm having issues. First of all, after carefully disassembling it for cleaning, I noticed that there are no ball retainers, so I tried my best to just repack the balls (also there were 9 in there, while the schematic says 8 1/4" in a cage). Second, whenever I rotate the axle, the cones tighten/loosen. The bearings on the non-magnet side seem well supported, but the ones on the other seem to easily fall into the middle. Is this tightening caused by the bearings near the magnet side falling into the middle and not providing support against the cap?

Here's a blow-up of my hub, and I apparently don't have the ball cages: https://www.users.globalnet.co.uk/~hadland/sa/sagh6.pdf

Edit: I also noticed that the ringed edge of the cap is not perfectly straight and wobbles slightly like a warped record.

Is this thing a piece of junk, or can it be fixed? Are replacement parts even available?

Last edited by jasminereeds; 06-25-10 at 04:11 PM.
Old 06-25-10, 06:56 PM
randomgear

Bikes: '89 Specialized Hardrock Fixed Gear Commuter; 1984? Dawes Atlantis

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
I've never played with one myself, but a bit more information via the late Sheldon Brown and Chris hayes can be found here: https://sheldonbrown.com/dynohubs.html
Old 06-28-10, 11:34 AM
jasminereeds

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)