Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Building a custom wheel

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Building a custom wheel

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-11, 09:13 AM
ffiaux

Bikes: BMC RaceMaster SLX01 2009

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Building a custom wheel

Hello,

I was wondering about building custom wheels and I have no experience with that subject. Is it better or not than buying factory ones?

I've been looking at ebay and there are some carbon rims. Are those 'non-brand' carbon rims reliable? I know there's some crap carbon rims around, how do I know if it's a good one?

I was thinking about getting one pair of full carbon tubular (3k, 320g, 20h front and 24h rear, 38mm deep), a 240s dt swiss front and rear hub and also dt swiss spokes.

Would that make a good set? Fast, reliable, stiff, strong?

The DT Swiss calculator told me this configuration would weight 1164g.

Kind regards.
Old 01-14-11, 09:25 AM
urbanknight
Over the hill

Bikes: Giant Defy, Giant Revolt

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 998 Post(s)
Liked 1,206 Times in 692 Posts
In general today, prebuilt wheels are less expensive. The allure of building your own wheels is that you can customize them any way you want, and the pride of riding on your own craftsmanship. I don't know anything about the no-name carbon rims, but do you have any experience with tubulars? What do you plan on using them for? In my personal opinion, tubulars aren't worth the hassle (fixing a flat is more involved than clinchers) for everyday riding, but are great for racing.