Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Best Ideas For Commuter Bikes

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-01, 01:27 PM
bjlaw

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am new to commuting in the last month. At this point I'm commuting every other day. My commute is 21 miles each way and I love the early morning best with less traffic. However my route has about a 4 mile section of "bad" road with lots of pot holes. It seems to be very hard on my newer road bike. But I have an old Falcon 10 speed road bike I'm thinking of converting into a commuter.

This is what got me thinking about all of you on this forum and the wealth of experience you have. What do you feel is the best type of bike for commuting? And to get even more specific what features have you added over the years to make your bike more comfortable, practical and safer? In other words what constitutes the perfect bike for commuting and what features or customizing have you done to make your bike better?

I'm looking forward to your suggestions.

When victory in battle is assured, time to tighten helmet strap.
Old 06-25-01, 03:37 PM
aerobat
Love Me....Love My Bike!

Bikes: Bikes: Giant hybrid, Trek 4500, Cannondale R800 Some commuting 20mi/day, mostly fitness riding - 20-50 mile rides

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you're thinking of converting your 10 spd into a commuter, especially over rough roads, I would try wider tires to soften the bumps. I'm not sure what sizes are available if you have 27" rims, but I'm sure someone else will know!

Other than that, a rack with provision for panniers, or some sort of rack pack, depending on how much you need to transport would be necessary.