Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Tandem Cycling
Reload this Page >

Thinking about upgrading 06 Cannondale Tandem wheelset

Search
Notices
Tandem Cycling A bicycle built for two. Want to find out more about this wonderful world of tandems? Check out this forum to talk with other tandem enthusiasts. Captains and stokers welcome!

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-20, 08:35 PM
Magnum PI

Bikes: Landshark, Kestrel Ironman, Giant Defy, Redline 925er, Orbea team Euskatel, AMP B2, Landshark e-Tandem, and, well you get the idea.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked 45 Times in 17 Posts

Aloha, my wife and I started riding our tandem again after letting it sit while we rode our own bikes. It's been fun, although I had to update the tires (Vittoria 700 x 28) and install new semi-metallic pads on the Avid mechanical discs, replace the chain and update the saddles. We're older and slower, and on the small side (team weight 270). However, riding together again has been fun, and I'm thinking I should upgrade the durable 40 spoke DT hubs/Mavic A317 wheelset to something lighter. No budget, but not really interested in carbon rims due to safety.

I surfed the forums, and see that the best recommendation so far is to RIDE MORE! So true, but I can't help but think a lighter set for folks our size would help us on the climbs, and maybe on the flats as well.

I have some Rolf wheels on a road bike. They are OK, pretty reliable. I have the old Spinergy carbon 4 spoke on an old Kestrel Tri bike. I just don't know if either of these companies makes a good wheel for a tandem. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 10-19-20, 08:22 AM
Paul J

Bikes: 1980's Spectrum 10 sp Campagnolo Centaur, 1990 Eddy Merckx 10 sp Campagnolo Centaur, Bushnell Tandem, Co-Motion Speedster Tandem

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked 102 Times in 65 Posts
Originally Posted by Magnum PI