Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

What do you wear for 10F-30F weather?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-15, 01:17 PM
Fly2High

Bikes: 2014 Specialized Secteur Sport

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi all.

I am new to cycling and was wondering what I would need to wear when the temps are around 10-32 deg. F.

Do you have thermal softshell jacket?

Would this jacket work(Men's SELECT Thermal Barrier Jacket - Pearl Izumi

Thermal underlayer? Short sleeve or long?

When would you use a short sleeve under layer?

tights? Thermal or not?

Do you wear arm/leg covers with shorts and short sleeves? (If not, how low can this be used?)

shoe covers?

Thanks

Frank
Old 01-29-15, 01:26 PM
jrossbeck

Bikes: '14 Trek Madone 2.1

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm somewhat new to cycling and do not ride in winter (Michigan), mostly because the snow and the roads here are garbage due to plows.

But 10-30, to me is too large of a range to have one set of clothes. Also, other folk's advice is helpful, but may not fit your needs. My advice (I used to run through the winters in Michigan).

Get a notebook. Get a decent set of clothing options. Put on what you think might be right, and go for a ride.
When you get back, make notes of what you wore, how far you went, how hot it was when you left and when you got back. Note if you felt too hot or too cold.