Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Help with Rack and Pannier Combo

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-17, 12:25 PM
bryguy27007

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello, I just recently purchased a new bike and am planning on commuting to work on it quite often and also using it to get groceries and such items.

My bike (Raleigh Clubman Alloy - 2017) comes with full fenders with a place to attach a rear rack. I have always wanted to try a rear rack and not having a full backpack and getting a really sweaty back in the summer. I just have a question on what a good set-up will be. I do get discounts on a couple of brands (I'm an outdoor industry professional and that's relatively common) so I'm really only focusing on a couple of brands that I get discounts for (sorry, not trying to rub it in just trying to give a more complete picture to make an informed decision).

I was thinking about Topeak's Explorer MTX (Disc Model) Rack with Spring (my bike has disc brakes). https://www.todsonb2b.com/products/t...iant=907200315

That rack I think would be a good fit for me. The place I'm having trouble deciding, is to go with Topeak's compatible bag - the MTX Trunk bag with foldable panniers that locks into that rear rack - https://www.todsonb2b.com/collection...panels-tt9635b

The other option would be going with a more traditional pannier like the Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Pair (or the Back Roller Plus - pair).