Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Early 90s Kestrel 200 SCI. Please HELP!

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-20, 04:47 PM
stran1989

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi everyone,

Newbie here. I recently purchased an early 90s Kestrel 200 SCI (guessing based on Shimano 600/6400 groupset) for $300. Unfortunately, brifters were changed to 105 flight deck (not sure of the model number). I hope that I'm not at a complete loss with this purchase (I think I may have paid too much): paint is pretty crappy (decals removed by 1st owner + chips everywhere, I'm the 3rd owner)--no carbon breaks that I can tell (crude test with a quarter for dead sounds), Shimano 600 groupset besides the brifters, Mavik Open 4 CD with Shimano 600 hubs & 9sp cassette, Nitto stem, FX Sakae handlebar, random comfort saddle with KORE aluminum seatpost.

I tried posting the images to the body of the message, but the forum says no URLs allowed until I make 10 posts. How do I submit images for you guys to view?

I'm deferring to the wisdom of this forum for any upgrade recommendations that'll result in a smooth, fast ride. Not worried about weight. I'm currently quarantined in Santa Clara, CA, and I'm also looking for shop recommendations for a tune-up.