Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Training plans vs. coaching vs. self-coaching

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-18, 11:29 AM
DJH8098

Bikes: 2012 Surly Karate Monkey SS, 2012 Surly Cross Check, 2016 Litespeed T3, 2015 Niner RLT 9SS

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have been coaching for a few years now and have started writing preformed training plans on Trainingpeaks. This aspect of the business has flourished in the last few months and I'm curious what have you used to train? Have you reached out to a coach, found a similar plan on Trainingpeaks, or have you found a free plan on the internet somewhere or something completely different? Do you feel as though you have gotten everything from your training? What would you do differently if you could? If you have used a coach in the past was it a great experience or was it lackluster, and what could they have done to help you perform better?

Just trying to better understand the market as a whole.
Old 05-25-18, 11:50 AM
joelcool

Bikes: Road, Commuter, Mountain, Tandem and a couple others

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked 41 Times in 27 Posts
I've never used a coach. I read articles on livestrong and bodybuilder type sites. What I've found is everyone has an opinion and they all disagree to some extent. That's fine by me, I take the information that is helpful to me and use it.
I'm not training for anything specific, I cycle and lift because I love it. I don't need the motivation of others to get me to the gym or on the bike.
Old 05-25-18, 12:25 PM
Carbonfiberboy 
just another gosling

Bikes: CoMo Speedster 2003, Trek 5200, CAAD 9, Fred 2004

Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Quoted: 3895 Post(s)