Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Quick questions and answers

Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Quick questions and answers

Old 06-10-16, 05:49 PM
  #1076  
Scrodzilla
Banned.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,054
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked 88 Times in 49 Posts
You know tire width largely depends on the width of the rim you're putting it on too, right?
Scrodzilla is offline  
Old 06-10-16, 07:34 PM
  #1077  
SpeshulEd 
Senior Member
 
SpeshulEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 8,089
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Scrodzilla View Post
You know tire width largely depends on the width of the rim you're putting it on too, right?
Throw a wider tire on a skinnier rim and it'll be taller!
__________________
Hey guys, lets go play bikes! Strava

SpeshulEd is offline  
Old 06-10-16, 08:15 PM
  #1078  
Regulatori
Senior Member
 
Regulatori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
I understand about the rim size...I was just asking specifically about diameter. Same rim/same tire pressure, it seems my Conti's just run taller than my other brands. Wasn't sure if the height variance is more about certain brands running larger or actual type of tire/sidewall that has effect on overall diameter.

I remember a bike magazine article explaining how certain tire brands run slightly smaller/larger but can't seem to find it.
Just similar to cycling shoes. Some brands I'm a 42, others I'm a 43.5.
Regulatori is offline  
Old 06-10-16, 10:05 PM
  #1079  
jacobsever
Senior Member
 
jacobsever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 187

Bikes: Super Pisa, Vigorelli, Scrambler

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do you need to lube a brand new chain? Or can you ride it fresh outta the packaging?
jacobsever is offline  
Old 06-10-16, 10:40 PM
  #1080  
seau grateau
Senior Member
 
seau grateau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PHL
Posts: 9,916

Bikes: Litespeed Catalyst, IRO Rob Roy, All City Big Block

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1322 Post(s)
Liked 327 Times in 156 Posts
I never lube new chains. Just attracts dirt.
seau grateau is offline  
Old 06-13-16, 09:44 PM
  #1081  
veganbikes
Clark W. Griswold
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ,location, location
Posts: 7,975

Bikes: Foundry Chilkoot Ti W/Ultegra Di2, Salsa Timberjack Ti, Cinelli Mash Work RandoCross Fun Time Machine, 1x9 XT Parts Hybrid, Co-Motion Cascadia, Specialized Langster, Phil Wood Apple VeloXS Frame (w/DA 7400), Cilo Road Frame, Proteus frame, Ti 26 MTB

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2122 Post(s)
Liked 1,041 Times in 731 Posts
Anyone have the approximate weight on a All City Nature Boy 853 frame in a 55CM. I cannot seem to find it anywhere and maybe someone knows? Trying to get an approximate build weight for my planned Alfine Di2 cross/road machine.
veganbikes is offline  
Old 06-13-16, 10:54 PM
  #1082  
hardboiled718
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by jacobsever View Post
Do you need to lube a brand new chain? Or can you ride it fresh outta the packaging?
straight out of the packaging, it'll probably be nicer than any lube application you do after the chain is on.
hardboiled718 is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 02:03 PM
  #1083  
cDiff Notorious
Senior Member
 
cDiff Notorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 273

Bikes: Wabi Classic, Schwinn Madison

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I need help measuring the tension on a bladed spoke. I'm confused as to the instructions with regards to the instructions. According to Park Tool, "With aero/bladed spokes, position the posts so they rest against the wide, flat side of the spoke."
So is it this way?



Or this?

cDiff Notorious is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 02:04 PM
  #1084  
Scrodzilla
Banned.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,054
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked 88 Times in 49 Posts
The first pic.
Scrodzilla is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 02:05 PM
  #1085  
cDiff Notorious
Senior Member
 
cDiff Notorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 273

Bikes: Wabi Classic, Schwinn Madison

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Awesome thanks
cDiff Notorious is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 02:29 PM
  #1086  
IAmSam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked 108 Times in 55 Posts
Originally Posted by seau grateau View Post
I never lube new chains. Just attracts dirt.
Wow - has it been a week already since this was posted? While I am sure just about everybody else here already knows it...that is incorrect

Originally Posted by hardboiled718 View Post
straight out of the packaging, it'll probably be nicer than any lube application you do after the chain is on.
And this is too...
IAmSam is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 02:40 PM
  #1087  
motrheadsroadie
Senior Member
 
motrheadsroadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 867

Bikes: stinner cx, paramount track

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
youll never be able to lube a chain as well as how it comes straight out the box from the factory.
motrheadsroadie is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 02:47 PM
  #1088  
IAmSam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked 108 Times in 55 Posts
Nonsense - they just put on a light preservative "oil", its not lubed...
IAmSam is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 02:52 PM
  #1089  
motrheadsroadie
Senior Member
 
motrheadsroadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 867

Bikes: stinner cx, paramount track

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
go on...
motrheadsroadie is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 02:56 PM
  #1090  
SquidPuppet
Calamari Marionette Ph.D
 
SquidPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Coeur d' Alene
Posts: 7,862

Bikes: 3 Chinese Gas Pipe Nerdcycles and 2 Chicago Electroforged Boat Anchors

Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2356 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Originally Posted by IAmSam View Post
Nonsense - they just put on a light preservative "oil", its not lubed...
The stuff that comes on the inexpensive KMC chains is fantastic and lasts for a very long time.
SquidPuppet is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 02:58 PM
  #1091  
Scrodzilla
Banned.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,054
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked 88 Times in 49 Posts
Holy ****...who actually cares about this stuff?

Last edited by Scrodzilla; 06-17-16 at 03:03 PM.
Scrodzilla is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 03:07 PM
  #1092  
tortron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you need to boil the chain in turpentine an hour to get rid of all the nasty modern grease.
Then boil it again in paraffin and mineral oil
Its also great for preserving the twist of your moustashe
tortron is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 03:09 PM
  #1093  
jacobsever
Senior Member
 
jacobsever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 187

Bikes: Super Pisa, Vigorelli, Scrambler

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How hard would it be to find a 120mm axle? Would most LBS have those on hand?

Also, how difficult is it to replace an axle by yourself, at home, if you've never attempted it before?
jacobsever is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 03:33 PM
  #1094  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,783

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6834 Post(s)
Liked 691 Times in 439 Posts
Originally Posted by SquidPuppet View Post
The stuff that comes on the inexpensive KMC chains is fantastic and lasts for a very long time.
It's Cosmoline, or a generic equivalent. Its mostly wax.
You can buy the stuff, heat it in a coffee can and soak your chain in it. The longer you let it dry the more durable it becomes. Leave your chain on the workbench for about a year and the stuff will never come off.

I thought about trying it, about rotating two chains, one on the bike and another cleaned, soaked and hung in the garage to cure. Decided I just don't care enough to try.

Last edited by TimothyH; 06-17-16 at 03:55 PM.
TimothyH is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 03:42 PM
  #1095  
IAmSam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked 108 Times in 55 Posts
Sorry - didn't expect my comment to turn into such a big controversy...

But- if anyone here likexs to live with the "lube" comes on a new chain - its obvious that you do not ride all that hard or far...

have a good nite....

Last edited by IAmSam; 06-17-16 at 03:54 PM.
IAmSam is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 03:58 PM
  #1096  
motrheadsroadie
Senior Member
 
motrheadsroadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 867

Bikes: stinner cx, paramount track

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
go on...
motrheadsroadie is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 04:03 PM
  #1097  
Scrodzilla
Banned.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,054
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked 88 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by jacobsever View Post
How hard would it be to find a 120mm axle? Would most LBS have those on hand?

Also, how difficult is it to replace an axle by yourself, at home, if you've never attempted it before?
Both questions depend on what hub you're dealing with.

Also, an axle for a 120mm-spaced hub will need to be longer than 120mm.
Scrodzilla is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 04:04 PM
  #1098  
jacobsever
Senior Member
 
jacobsever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 187

Bikes: Super Pisa, Vigorelli, Scrambler

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by IAmSam View Post
Sorry - didn't expect my comment to turn into such a big controversy...

But- if anyone here likexs to live with the "lube" comes on a new chain - its obvious that you do not ride all that hard or far...

have a good nite....
I installed a new chain last week, put no additional lube on it. Did two 30+ mile rides and everything seems absolutely perfect. I know it's no century or anything, but 30 miles is still more than a quick ride around the neighborhood.
jacobsever is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 04:04 PM
  #1099  
jacobsever
Senior Member
 
jacobsever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 187

Bikes: Super Pisa, Vigorelli, Scrambler

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Scrodzilla View Post
Both questions depend on what hub you're dealing with.

Also, an axle for a 120mm-spaced hub will need to be longer than 120mm.
Good to know. Looking to replace the axle on a rear Miche Primato track hub.
jacobsever is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 04:08 PM
  #1100  
SquidPuppet
Calamari Marionette Ph.D
 
SquidPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Coeur d' Alene
Posts: 7,862

Bikes: 3 Chinese Gas Pipe Nerdcycles and 2 Chicago Electroforged Boat Anchors

Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2356 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Originally Posted by IAmSam View Post
sorry - didn't expect it to turn into such a big controversy...
but- if you like to live with the "lube" comes on a new chain - its obvious that you do not ride all that hard or far...
have a good nite....



I guess I was lying about my own personal experiences and Sheldon is an idiot.

Factory Lube

New chains come pre-lubricated with a grease-type lubricant which has been installed at the factory. This is an excellent lubricant, and has been made to permeate all of the internal interstices in the chain. This factory lube is superior to any lube that you can apply after the fact
Chain Maintenance

They use the words "LUBE", "Oil", "Lubricating Station" and "To prevent wear" in this video of how bicycle chains are made. They show the chain being 100% submerged in oil.


Looks like we are all dolts.
SquidPuppet is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.